EG Auction Sniper
VIP Member
Shout Master
Mutated
Fully Loaded
EG Cash
Beginners Guide – The Barbell Is King

by:Justis Cousins

It was around 2009 and I was a freshman in high school. My friend invited me to the school gym to start working out with him. I was ready to get big and strong! There was only one issue – we went to an art school…

As a result, the gym was about the same size of some people’s master bedroom and there was nothing even resembling a barbell in sight. There were only a handful of machines and dumbbells that went up to 30lbs.

Looking back, it wasn’t the worst situation in the world (especially being absolutely free), but it definitely wasn’t the best. The fact that there were no barbells not only hindered my gains while I used the school gym, but also for a while after as well.

My Case of Barbellophobia

I had barbellophobia (n.). That’s a condition where you make up excuses as to why you shouldn’t or don’t need to use a barbell because you don’t know any better. I had it and I had it bad.

The couple times I decided to mess with a barbell, I quickly left it alone because I was more comfortable using the machines and dumbbells.

Now, I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with machines or dumbbells but barbells are king. There’s no doubt. Why can I say so with such confidence?

Well, it all rests on some pretty simple concepts. In this article we will take a quick look at volume, progressive overload, and muscle recruitment and see how the barbell helps you get the most out of all three. I’ll also tell you how you can make some easy changes today to use the barbell more, and improve your potential for strength and muscle gain.

The Importance of Volume

Volume can be defined by a very simple equation (volume = weight x sets x reps). Research has shown the key to muscle and strength gains basically boils down to total volume.